Campus Life

Eight Faculty Earn Texas A&M’s Highest Honor

Texas A&M announces the 2024 University Distinguished Professors with members whose work demonstrates the university’s strengths.
By Texas A&M University Division of Marketing and Communications January 30, 2024

a photo of the University Distinguished Professors medal


Texas A&M University has awarded the title of University Distinguished Professor, its highest faculty award, to eight scholars. The 2024 University Distinguished Professors represent the Colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Arts and Sciences and Engineering and the Schools of Law, Medicine and Pharmacy.

The University Distinguished Professor designation is bestowed upon faculty members who are preeminent in their fields and have made at least one transformational contribution or provided an intellectually substantial “leap forward” in their discipline.

This faculty cohort has made significant contributions and inspired innovative thought in intellectual property rights, experimental high-energy physics, space systems, automated power systems and smart grids, drug delivery systems, optical biosensors, building genome maps and enhancing brain function after injury, disease or aging.

The 2024 Texas A&M University Distinguished Professors are:

  • Robert Ambrose, professor, J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Mladen Kezunovic, professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Mansoor Khan, professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Irma Lerma Rangel School of Pharmacy
  • Frances Ligler, professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering
  • John Mullet, professor, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Ashok Shetty, professor, Department of Cell Biology and Genetics, School of Medicine
  • Alexei Sokolov, professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Peter Yu, professor, School of Law


Media contact: Diane Oswald,

Related Stories

Recent Stories