Campus Life

2021 Presidential Professor For Teaching Excellence Recipients Announced

The awards are given to the university's most distinguished teachers.
By Office of the Provost staff May 5, 2021

(l-r) Alan Dabney and •Wei-Jung Chen
Alan Dabney and Wei-Jung Chen

Texas A&M Division of Marketing & Communications


Two members of the Texas A&M University faculty have been honored with the 2021 Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence (PPTE) Award, which is conferred upon the university’s most distinguished teachers.

The recipients are:

  • Wei-Jung Chen, Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics, College of Medicine
  • Alan Dabney, Statistics, College of Science

PPTE recipients exhibit uncommon excellence and devotion to the education of their students. At the time of nomination, candidates must have at least five years of full-time service to Texas A&M University and should have a demonstrated record of teaching excellence, including college-level teaching awards.

Presidential Professors receive a certificate, a commemorative medallion, and a financial award in the amount of $25,000, and the awardees bear the designation “Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence” for the rest of their careers.

For more information about the 2021 Presidential Professor for Teaching Excellence recipients, visit the Dean of Faculties site*.

* This link is no longer active and has been removed.

Related Stories

Recent Stories