Campus Life

Texas A&M Presents 2024 Staff & Student Excellence Awards

Individual staff members, supervisors, teams and student employees were recognized for their contributions to the university community.
By Texas A&M University Division of Marketing & Communications April 11, 2024

Wide shot of the crowd at Rudder Theatre at the awards ceremony
The 2024 Staff & Student Excellence Awards ceremony was held April 10 at Rudder Theatre on the Texas A&M campus.

Laura McKenzie/Texas A&M Division of Marketing & Communications


Texas A&M University celebrated students, faculty and staff and highlighted the outstanding work they do every day at an awards ceremony Wednesday at Rudder Theatre.

The Staff & Student Excellence Awards recognized 24 individual staff members, two supervisors, two teams, three individuals for community engagement and two students. Chief of Staff Susan Ballabina, speaking on behalf of President Mark A. Welsh III, said the award winners are “exceptional members of the Aggie family who represent everything great about our university.”

“It has truly been an afternoon of well-deserved celebration, and Texas A&M University is stronger because of the efforts made by those who walked across our stage today,” Ballabina said.

Several of the awards are supported by The Association of Former Students. CEO and President Porter S. Garner III ’79 thanked the recipients for their work: “What you do is critically important, but how you do it is where we earn our reputation every day.”

Close up image of a person holding a plaque in their hands that reads "President's Meritorious Service Award"
Twenty-four individual staff members, two supervisors and two teams were recognized with President’s Meritorious Service Awards.

Laura McKenzie/Texas A&M Division of Marketing & Communications

President’s Meritorious Service Awards

Sponsored by the Office of the President and The Association of Former Students, President’s Meritorious Service Awards are given to individuals who demonstrate their commitment to the Aggie Core Values of Respect, Excellence, Leadership, Loyalty, Integrity and Selfless Service. An anonymous committee of staff from across campus selected the winners from more than 100 nominations across five categories.

Aggie Way – Recognizes Aggies who lead by example and enrich the university’s learning and working environments by living out the Aggie Core Values:

  • John W. Browning, University Police Department
  • Sherri Jerzyk, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

New Employee – Recognizes employees with less than two years of continuous service who energetically engage and provide exceptional effort in their assigned roles:

  • Kelly Ray Landschoot, School of Engineering Medicine
  • Hannah Villanueva, Enrollment Services, Aggie One Stop


  • Jeff Green, School of Law
  • Michael E. Shehane, Career Center, Division of Student Affairs


  • Kevin Bell, Technology Services
  • Kristen Lee Brubaker, Center for Teaching Excellence
  • Angel Mario Carrizales, Office of the Registrar
  • Tamara E. Hardin, Sponsored Research Services
  • Becky Jobling, School of Performance, Visualization and Fine Arts
  • Priya Karthick, Technology Services
  • Cheryl S. Kocman, William Michael Barnes ’64 Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Kaitlyn McGaff, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
  • Davanna J. Minter, Division of Student Life
  • Jeffrey Pace, Technology Services
  • Paula Plummer, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Yasa Rathnayaka, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Amarette Renieri, Career Center, Division of Student Affairs
  • Jennifer Santos, Memorial Student Center, Division of Student Affairs
  • Kevin Wayne Scott, Jr., Department of Chemistry
  • Rebecca Simon, J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Ashlee Treadway, Bush School of Government and Public Service
  • Sheri Walters, Athletics
  • Sema Yelda Yeginsoy, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Paula Young, Center for Executive Development, Mays Business School


  • Learning Services, Athletics – Valeria Barragan, Jessica Busto, Ashley DeCarlo, Jessica A. Foubert, Alyssa Lamme, Michelle Stout, Samantha A. Weed, Wendy Wright
  • Psychological and Brain Sciences Academic Advisors, College of Arts and Sciences – Lisa Bowden, Shari K. Chambers, Jennifer Fleming, Mitchell Reed

Student Employee of the Year

Named by the Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness, the award honors students who demonstrate excellence in their job responsibilities and academic endeavors. The honorees excel in communication, teamwork and problem-solving, and possess an outstanding work ethic.

  • Banesa I. Arredondo, Community Service Program
  • Addi Tsirulnik, Department of Biology

Community Engagement Award

Presented by the Student Government Association in collaboration with the Office of Community Engagement, the award recognizes students, faculty and staff for outstanding selfless service through volunteerism, outreach and improving local and university communities as part of Texas A&M’s land-grant mission.

  • Staff Award – Michael E. Phillips, Technology Services
  • Faculty Award – Dr. Robin Page, School of Nursing
  • Student Award – Gabe Gruenewald, finance major

Related Stories

Recent Stories