Campus Life

Bush School Opens Nominations For ‘The 41 Award’

The award recognizes Texas A&M faculty and staff who display outstanding commitment to the development of student character.
By Lesley Henton, Texas A&M University Division of Marketing and Communications November 30, 2023

George H.W. Bush
The 41 Award is named for George H.W. Bush, the 41st president of the United States.

The Bush School of Government and Public Service has opened nominations for the “Inspiring the Spirit of Aggieland – The 41 Award.”

Open to all Texas A&M University faculty and administrators, the 41 Award recognizes those who go above and beyond to develop leaders of character dedicated to serving the greater good. The award is named in honor of George H.W. Bush, the 41st president of the United States.

Previous award recipients include Bush School Professor James “Jim” Olson (2022) and Rodney Boehm (2023), an associate professor in the College of Engineering.

The 41 Award represents a commitment to the university’s Core Values, the Aggie Spirit and A&M traditions. “President George H.W. Bush chose Texas A&M University to house his school, his library, and his and Mrs. Barbara Bush’s final resting place, and thus entrusted Texas A&M with carrying on his legacy,” Bush School officials said. “He believed very strongly that ‘there can be no definition of a successful life that does not include service to others,’ and his words continue to inspire and challenge us all to make our communities, state, nation and world a better place.”

The award recipient will be recognized at a ceremony in spring 2024 and receive a monetary award and recognition piece.

Nominations are open now through Jan. 12. To learn more about submitting a nomination and required criteria, visit the 41 Award Nomination Page or email

Related Stories

Recent Stories