a graphic featuring the award watch
Article has a video
Campus Life

2020 Buck Weirus Spirit Award Winners Named

The award recognizes students for their outstanding contributions to student life programs at Texas A&M.
By Caitlin "Cait" Shields '11, The Association of Former Students May 1, 2020

a photo of the watch given to winners of the Buck Weirus Award
Recipients of the Buck Weirus Spirit Award receive a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

The Association of Former Students

Since 1982, the Buck Weirus Spirit Awards from The Association of Former Students have celebrated outstanding Aggie Spirit shown by students. These Aggies are highly involved, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community and make a true impact on student life at Texas A&M, said Association officials.

The award honors 55 students each year who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to the university through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award  is named for Richard “Buck” Weirus ’42 who served as executive director of The Association from 1964 to 1980. Because of his unique leadership, vision and support of student involvement, this award was established by The Association’s Board of Directors in 1982 in his honor.

Each recipient is presented an Aggie Spirit watch, which is often recognized long after students leave campus.

“The Buck Weirus Spirit Award watch and the recognition of serving the student body and Texas A&M is highly coveted and competitive,” said Marty Holmes ’87, Association vice president for programs. “The watch is only obtainable by the recipients of this award, but the impact they have had on Texas A&M and the student body is appreciated by all.”

The 2020 recipients are:

Isabelle Agurcia ’20
Ritika Bhattacharjee ’22
Emma Bianchi ’20
Sreyashree Bose ’20
Claire Brown ’22
Ashlyn Chauhan ’22
Keller Cox ’21
Kyle Cox ’18
Abhi Dhillon ’20
Alexandra Easley ’17
Anna Fedewa ’22
Weston Fisher ’20
Laney Froebel ’20
Ahmed Gad ’20
Luis Garcia Saldana ’20
Jace Garrett ’20
Ethan Gleberman ’20
Stephanie Gonzalez ’20
Ferryn Gradney ’21
Andrew Hebert ’21
Jabreon Jackson ’21
Jeevika Jarmarwala ’20
Breidon Johnson ’21
Ryan Johnson ’20
Mason Kleinecke ’21
Oriana Koot ’21
Ammani Kyanam ’16
Essynce Lewis ’21
Karsten Lowe ’20
Steven Mancillas ’21
Kaley Markos ’19
Jocelyn Marrufo ’21
Mary McQuade ’22
Julia Meyer ’20
Allison Migura ’20
Nolan Moore ’22
Aariana Myles ’21
Shannon Norris ’20
Erica Pauls ’21
Junhong Peng ’21
John Petroff ’20
Madison Pratt ’20
Adrian Reed ’21
Trey Richardson ’21
Edward Rodriguez ’20
Nicholas Rossi ’20
Kristen Sarna ’20
Zachary Skrehot ’21
Micah Tardy ’20
Michael Teve ’22
Luke Thomas ’20
Vita Tijerina ’20
Abraham Van Helmond ’20
Megha Viswanath ’22
Aleah Wyatt ’20

Learn more about the Buck Weirus Spirit Award.

Media contact: Kathryn Greenwade, The Association of Former Students, KGreenwade88@AggieNetwork.com

Recent Stories