Campus Life

Five Faculty Honored For Undergraduate Teaching Excellence

Professors were selected for their exemplary teaching and dedication to undergraduates.
By Brandon V. Webb, Texas A&M University Provost Communications April 6, 2023

Five innovative Texas A&M University professors have been selected to receive 2023 University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence (UPUTE) awards. The recipients will be recognized during a university-wide awards luncheon April 24.

UPUTE professors earn distinction for their innovative teaching methods and continuous pursuit of inspiring new knowledge among undergraduate students. UPUTE recipients are credited as top innovators in pedagogy and for seeking engagement with other high-quality educators to explore new teaching methods that enhance transformational learning at Texas A&M.

The 2023 University Professorship for Undergraduate Teaching Excellence recipients are:

Dr. Emily Cantrell, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture, School of Education and Human Development

Dr. James D. Herman, Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology, School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Dr. James D. Pennington, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Arun R. Srinivasa, J. Mike Walker ’66 Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering

Dr. Kati Stoddard, Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

“These awards support Texas A&M University’s unique mission in Texas by supporting and recognizing our faculty’s outstanding efforts in transformational teaching, translational research and selfless service,” said Dr. N.K. Anand, vice president for faculty affairs. “University Professorships highlight the expertise and extraordinary abilities these faculty apply to working with our undergraduate students.”

The three-year award carries an annual salary supplement and an annual discretionary bursary to support teaching and opportunities for professional development. UPUTE recognitions are sponsored with endowments by George and Irma Eppright, John I. Kincaid, and Arthur J. and Wilhelmina Doré Thaman.

Media contact: Brandon V. Webb,

Related Stories

Recent Stories