Science & Tech

Nineteen Current And Former Students Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

The program funds three years of graduate education for outstanding students in STEM.
By Rob Dixon, Texas A&M University Graduate and Professional School April 27, 2022

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Programs
The NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees.

Nineteen current or former Texas A&M University students have been named National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) award recipients for 2022. Winners with ties to Texas A&M include nine current graduate students and one current undergraduate. The remaining nine students earned bachelor’s degrees at Texas A&M and are currently in graduate programs at other institutions.

The NSF GRFP recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines. Undergraduate seniors and graduate students in the first year of their graduate programs are eligible to apply.

The five-year fellowship provides three years of financial support including an annual stipend of $34,000 and a $12,000 cost of education allowance.

NSF graduate research fellows are anticipated to graduate as experts in their fields and contribute meaningfully to research, teaching, and innovation in ways that advance our nation’s technological infrastructure and national security, as well as the economic well-being of society at large.

This year’s awardees are:

  • Leeanne Nicole Blind-Doskocil, Meteorology
  • Antonio Cordova, Biochemistry
  • Madison Elaine Edwards, Chemistry
  • Alyssa Felix Thayne, Chemistry (undergraduate)
  • Kristel Forlano, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Dylan Halbeisen, Chemical Oceanography
  • Urvi Kaul, Biological Anthropology
  • Devon Lee Kulhanek, Chemical Engineering
  • Annais Belinda Muschett-Bonilla, Marine Biology
  • Mia Rayne Kreitlow, Psychology
  • Christian Landry, Mechanical Engineering
  • Brendan Lyle Murphy, Chemistry
  • Anna Louise Pritchard, Engineering
  • Krista Grace Schoonover, Chemistry
  • Nicholas Charles Starvaggi, Chemistry
  • Grayson Avery Tung, Entomology
  • Brent Vela, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Brandon Michael Woo, Entomology
  • Danielle Frances Yarbrough, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Founded in 1951, the NSF GRFP is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, each year awarding approximately 2,000 students from around 13,000 applicants.

For a complete list of winners, visit the NSF’s award offers page* and for more information, visit the NSF GFRP website.


* This link is no longer active and has been removed.

Related Stories

Recent Stories