Campus Life

Texas A&M Students Elect New Student Body President, Yell Leaders, Other Key Student Leaders

Case Harris ’23, a junior studying finance at Mays Business School, was selected as student body president.
By Madison Isbell, Texas A&M University Division of Student Affairs, with assistance provided by The Battalion March 4, 2022

a crowd of Aggies celebrate the victors in the student elections at Kyle Field Plaza March 4, 2022
Aggies at Kyle Field Plaza celebrate the winners of this year’s student elections

Caitlin Stansbury/Division of Student Affairs


Texas A&M University students announced the results of the student body elections tonight on Kyle Field Plaza to a crowd of about 300. Case Harris ’23, a junior finance major from Austin, will be Texas A&M’s student body president for the 2022-23 academic year.

Student Body President-elect Case Harris '23
Student Body President-elect Case Harris ’23

Caitlin Stansbury/Division of Student Affairs

“It feels amazing! I’ve never been prouder to be an Aggie. I’m so excited for the upcoming year,” Harris said. “From the beginning my two goals were to advance Texas A&M and ensure every Aggie is set up to win, so that’s what we’re going to do.”

Zac Cross, Kipp Knecht and Nathan Drain were elected senior Yell Leaders and Trevor Yelton and Thomas Greve were chosen as junior Yell Leaders. All five are members of the Corps of Cadets who ran on the 5 for Yell platform.

“It’s the greatest blessing ever! Having served before, I know what needs to be done to continue serving this great university,” said Cross. “I’m happy that me and Kipp are able to do this again because I think we can build on this year, and we’re going to do a lot better. I’m looking forward to 2023.”

This year’s Yell Leader election involved candidates from two organized groups: 5 for Yell and Ags 5 Yell. 5 for Yell is a group of five members of Texas A&M’s Corps of Cadets, two of whom were incumbent junior Yell Leaders: Cross and Knecht. Its Facebook page describes them as “a group of individuals forged by the Corps, voted on by their peers, vetted by their superiors and chosen to represent the university.”

According to The Battalion, in the history of Texas A&M, only 33 non-regs, or students who are not in the Corps of Cadets, have been elected as Yell Leaders, and only once has a non-reg served as Head Yell Leader. About 2,500 Aggies are part of the Corps of Cadets.

According to the Instagram page for Ags 5 Yell, these Yell Leader candidates, all men, have the goal of representing the entire student body and providing a platform for anyone to become Yell Leader.

Students could cast their vote for any five Yell Leader candidates, regardless on which platform they ran.

Election results also were announced for Texas A&M class agents and class presidents, RHA (Residential Housing Association) president, senators, and Honors Student Council offices.

A total of 12,630 ballots were cast in this spring’s elections. SBP-elect Harris won with 2,558 votes (24.7 percent). Election results are not official until certified by the chief justice of the student judicial court.

A student Election Commission, which is part of the Student Government Association, upholds the Aggie Honor Code, assuming anonymous roles to ensure fairness. The commission released candidate information and encouraged students to participate in voting.

For additional results, visit the 2022 student body elections results page.

Media contact: Sondra White,

Related Stories

Recent Stories