Science & Tech

Two Texas A&M Faculty To Join National Academy Of Engineering

Membership is considered to be one of the highest honors for professional engineers.
By Texas A&M University Faculty Affairs March 1, 2022

Two Texas A&M University faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Mladen Kezunovic and Vijay Singh are among 111 new members and 22 international members who will be inducted in October. NAE members are elected by peers, who are current NAE members.

Once inducted, Texas A&M will be home to 30 NAE members among the current faculty. Membership is one of the highest global professional honors an engineer can receive in their career.

As component of The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, NAE began under the same congressional act President Lincoln signed in 1863 to establish the National Academy of Sciences. Under this act, NAE is directed “whenever called upon by any department or agency of government, to investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art.” The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the same congressional charter. The 2022 NAE elections bring the total number of U.S. members to 2,388 and 310 international members.

A reception for Kezunovic and Singh will be held Tuesday, March 1 at the Bethancourt Ballroom in the Memorial Student Center. Those who would like to join in the celebration are invited to attend the event at 6:15 p.m. via livestream.

Mladen Kezunovic, College of Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Kezunovic is a Regents Professor and Eugene E. Webb Professor. He was elected to the NAE for his contributions to automated analysis of power system faults and leadership in education in protective relaying. Read more about his accomplishments on the College of Engineering website.

portrait of kezunovic
Mladen Kezunovic.

Texas A&M Engineering

Vijay Singh, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; College of Engineering, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Singh is a University Distinguished Professor, Regents Professor and Caroline & William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair. He was elected to the NAE for his contributions to wave modeling and development of entrophy-based theories of hydrologic processes and hydroclimatic extremes. Read more about Singh on the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences website.

portrait of singh
Vijay P. Singh.

Laura McKenzie/Texas A&M AgriLife Communications

Related Stories

Recent Stories