Campus Life

SEC Honors Shawn Gibbs With Michael L. Slive Award

The Texas A&M School of Public Health dean is recognized for his guidance during the COVID-19 pandemic.
By Texas A&M University Division of Marketing & Communications June 2, 2021

shawn gibbs portrait
School of Public Health Dean Shawn Gibbs.

Texas A&M Health Science Center


Texas A&M University School of Public Health Dean Shawn Gibbs has been named a recipient of the Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award, Southeastern Conference Commissioner Greg Sankey announced Wednesday.

Gibbs and other members of the SEC’s Return to Activity and Medical Guidance Task Force have been recognized with the award for their leadership and significant impact to the betterment of the mission of the conference. The task force was formed last April to provide guidance to decision-makers related to the return of athletic activities and supporting the safe and healthy conduct of athletics competition during the COVID-19 pandemic.

An industrial hygienist, Gibbs took on his new position as dean of the School of Public Health last May. He quickly began working on COVID-19 efforts at Texas A&M and as part of the SEC task force.

“These health professionals collectively and uniquely embody the spirit of this special award,” Sankey said in a press release. “The expertise, experience and knowledge they provide continues to support our institutions in their focus on the health and well-being of SEC student-athletes during a year of uncertainty. We are proud to honor them with the Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award.”

According to the SEC, members of the task force met by video conference beginning last April to review and discuss information related to the pandemic. The task force identified protocols for on-campus meetings and workouts, out-of-season activities and skill instruction, and other practice activities for student-athletes and coaches. It also focused on opportunities for safely returning to competition, including considerations for student-athletes, administrators, support staff, officials and fans.

The Michael L. Slive Distinguished Service Award is named for Mike Slive, commissioner of the SEC from 2002-2014. Slive was named the first winner of the award upon his retirement.

Media contact: Rae Lynn Mitchell,

Related Stories

Recent Stories