Health & Environment

Amy Waer Named College Of Medicine Dean

Waer has served an interim dean of the college since September 2019.
By Texas A&M University Office of the Provost December 21, 2020

A photo of Dr. Amy Waer
Dr. Amy Waer.

Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young and Provost and Executive Vice President Carol A. Fierke today announced the appointment of Amy Waer, M.D., F.A.C.S, as dean of the Texas A&M University College of Medicine. Dr. Waer will transition from her duties as interim dean to her new role Jan. 1.

While in the interim dean role since September 2019, Dr. Waer has continued to serve as executive dean for education and academic programs for the college. She started in the College of Medicine in February 2018 as the vice dean of education and academic programs.

Dr. Waer joined Texas A&M University after several decades of surgical experience and graduate/undergraduate medical education expertise from private group general surgery practice in Virginia followed by 14 years at the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center and College of Medicine in Tucson, Arizona.

She served in multiple roles while in Arizona including as surgery clerkship director, surgery residency program director, chair of general surgery, chief medical officer, medical director for the Arizona Telehealth Program, associate dean for curricular affairs, and the interim assistant vice president of interprofessional education, collaborative practice and community engagement.

Dr. Waer earned her undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Arizona. Her research and clinical interests have focused on general surgery, surgical oncology around breast cancer, surgical education and medical education. More specifically, her scientific translational and clinical research has centered on breast cancer prevention and early detection.

A noted scholar and educator, Dr. Waer holds numerous certifications, including being a member of the American Board of Surgery and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She is also recipient of numerous awards for her contributions to medical education and curriculum design including, Charles W. Putnam Teaching Award, as voted by her peers, Award for Excellence in Clinical Science Teaching, and induction into Texas A&M College of Medicine’s Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators. More recently she was the first Texas A&M College of Medicine individual to be accepted in the nationally recognized Drexel University Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Fellowship for 2020/2021.

Media contact: Christina Sumners,

Related Stories

Recent Stories