News Releases

Three Texas A&M Faculty Members Selected as AAAS Fellows

Atmospheric scientist Ping Yang, biomedical scientist Lynne Opperman and civil engineer Eyad Masad will receive the 2019 honor from the American Association for the Advancement of Science for their extraordinary achievements.
By Texas A&M University Research Communications and Public Relations November 26, 2019

Academic building dome through trees
The Academic Building at Texas A&M University.

Texas A&M Marketing & Communications

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) will induct three faculty-researchers from Texas A&M University as 2019 AAAS fellows during the association’s annual meeting on Feb. 15 in Seattle, the Division of Research announced today.

In all, AAAS named 443 new fellows in recognition of their extraordinary achievements in science, the association said in a news release today. The 2019 AAAS fellows from Texas A&M are:

  • Ping Yang, professor and holder of the David Bullock Harris Chair, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, College of Geosciences, College Station, Texas, AAAS Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Science
  • Lynne A. Opperman, Regents Professor and head, Department of Biomedical Sciences, College of Dentistry, Dallas, Texas, AAAS Section on Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences
  • Eyad Masad, Zachry Professor in Design and Construction Integration II, Zachry Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering, and professor, Mechanical Engineering Program, Texas A&M University at Qatar, Doha, Qatar, AAAS Section on Engineering

“I am pleased that AAAS has recognized the tremendous scientific contributions of these exceptional members of the Texas A&M faculty,” Vice President for Research Mark A. Barteau said. “Dr. Yang, Dr. Opperman and Dr. Masad have clearly enhanced and advanced science on a global scale. They serve as outstanding examples of our university’s mission to provide innovative and effective solutions to the world’s most challenging problems.”

The addition of Yang, Opperman and Masad will bring the current number of AAAS fellows on the Texas A&M faculty to 58.

Formed in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest multidisciplinary scientific society, with members in more than 91 nations.

Media contact: Rusty Cawley,, 979-458-1475.

Related Stories

Recent Stories