Campus Life

Texas A&M Announces 2019 Distinguished Achievement Recipients

24 Texas A&M faculty and staff have been recognized for excellence in areas that include teaching, research and student engagement.
By Texas A&M University Office of the Provost Staff April 9, 2019

Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students have selected 24 outstanding members of the school’s faculty and staff to be honored with 2019 Distinguished Achievement Awards.

The university-level Distinguished Achievement Awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to more than 1,000 professionals who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

The 2019 Distinguished Achievement Awards will be formally presented at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, April 29, during ceremonies in Rudder Theatre on the Texas A&M University campus. In recognition of their achievements, each recipient will receive a cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

The 2019 recipients, along with their departments/affiliations, are as follows.

For Teaching

  • Erick Moreno-Centeno, Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Wei-Jung Chen, Department of Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics, College of Medicine
  • Cheryl Herman, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • Claire Katz, Department of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts
  • Wei Li, Department of Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning, College of Architecture
  • Duncan S. MacKenzie, Department of Biology, College of Science
  • John F. Murphy, School of Law
  • Scott Schaefer, Department of Computer Science & Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Nancy Street, Department of Communication, College of Liberal Arts
  • Radhika Viruru, Department of Teaching, Learning, & Culture, Education and Human Development

For Research

  • Nicolaas E. Deutz, Department of Health & Kinesiology, College of Education and Human Development
  • Francois Gabbai, Department of Chemistry, College of Science
  • Yassin A. Hassan, Department of Nuclear Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Katrin Hinrichs, Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • P.R. Kumar, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Suhail Zubairy, Department of Physics & Astronomy, College of Science

For Individual Student Engagement

  • Rafael Almanzar, Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Rebecca Burns, College of Nursing

For Administration

  • Sherry J. Yennello, Department of Chemistry, College of Science

For Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education and Professional Development

  • Tatiana Erukhimova, Department of Physics, College of Science

For Staff

  • Jennifer Boyle, Department of Student Activities, Division of Student Affairs
  • Krista May, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts

For Graduate Mentoring

  • Bani K. Mallick, Department of Statistics, College of Science
  • Guy Whitten, Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

Media contact: Kathryn Greenwade, The Association of Former Students, 979-845-7514,

Related Stories

Recent Stories