Campus Life

2019 Phil Gramm Awards Presented April 4

The celebration honors five Texas A&M doctoral students and showcases their work.
By Texas A&M University Office of the Provost Staff March 28, 2019

Excellence in research, teaching and mentoring has netted five graduate doctoral students the prestigious U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellows Award. Presented by the Texas A&M University Office of Graduate and Professional Studies, the award highlights accomplishments by graduate scholars and features three-minute presentations from awardees.

The recipients of the 2019 Gramm Doctoral Fellowships are:

  • Jaskirat Singh Batra, Materials Science & Engineering, College of Engineering
    Advisor: Dr. Jun Kameoka
  • Grace Ellen Brannon, Communication, College of Liberal Arts
    Advisor: Dr. Richard Street
  • Lars Erik Andreas Ehnbom, Chemistry, College of Science
    Advisors: Dr. John Gladysz, Dr. Michael B. Hall
  • Desirae L. Embree, English, College of Liberal Arts
    Advisor: Dr. Anne Morey
  • Wendi Kamman Zimmer, Teaching, Learning, and Culture, College of Education & Human Development
    Advisor: Dr. Erin McTigue

A ceremony to recognize award recipients will be held at the Stark Galleries in the Memorial Student Center April 4 from 3:30 p.m. – 5 p.m. Recipients will give brief presentations about their academic work, highlighting the accomplishments that earned them this distinction.

Those wishing to attend the ceremony can RSVP to LaToya Morris at or 979-845-3631.

The awards are named for Phil Gramm, who earned his doctorate from the University of Georgia and served as an economics professor at Texas A&M for 12 years before embarking on a highly successful political career as a U.S. Congressman and U.S. Senator.

Media contact: LaToya Morris, Office of Graduate and Professional Studies, 979-845-3631,

Related Stories

Recent Stories