Campus Life

Robertson Foundation Names Four Bush School Students 2019 Fellows

December 8, 2017

Bush complex from above

By Texas A&M University Bush School of Government and Public Service

Four Texas A&M University Bush School of Government and Public Service students were named to the Class of 2019 Robertson Fellows.

Each year, the Robertson Foundation selects fellows from the top international affairs graduate schools in the nation. In exchange for becoming scholarship recipients, Robertson Fellows, as a program requirement, agree to work for the federal government for a minimum of three of their first seven years after graduation.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Audrey Hopkins
  • Sailer Perkins
  • Noelle Rutland
  • Clayton Yates

These students, whether coming to the Bush School directly from their respective undergraduate institutions or from the workforce, all have impressive resumes. Perkins, a summa cum laude graduate of the University of Mississippi, has studied Arabic in Jordan and Egypt and worked as a translator for The Syrian Voice in Amman, Jordan.

Another Fellow, Rutland, has completed prestigious internships at the Institute for the Study of War and the Department of Defense, while Hopkins, a graduate of Arizona State University, completed internships at Sandia National Laboratories and the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies.

Yates, who graduated magna cum laude from The Ohio State University in 2011, commissioned as a Second Lieutenant in the US Army after graduation. After separating from the Army, Yates worked for the International Center for Empowerment facilitating refugee resettlement.

The Robertson Foundation identifies and nurtures future US government leaders in the areas of national security, foreign policy, and international affairs. The Foundation provides scholarships, internship stipends, and additional career support to graduate students at select universities.


This story originally appeared on the Bush School website.

Related Stories

Recent Stories