Campus Life

Six Texas A&M Faculty Selected For 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program

September 14, 2017

SEC flag

By Bryant Welbourne, SECU

Editor’s note: The six Texas A&M University faculty selected for this year’s Faculty Travel Program are:

  • Corey Bishop, Biomedical Engineering
  • Senarath Dharmasena, Marketing
  • Holly Foster, Sociology
  • Deanna Kennedy, Kinesiology
  • Jeffrey Liew, Educational Psychology
  • Nicholas Suntzeff, Physics

More than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities will take part in the 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program, the league office announced Thursday. The program, in its sixth year, provides support for selected individuals to collaborate with colleagues at other SEC member institutions.

“As a researcher, it’s great to know that the SEC is behind us and supports what we want to do,” said Dr. Susan Loveall-Hague, Assistant Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders at the University of Mississippi and former program participant.

Through the program, the SEC provides financial assistance for its faculty members to travel to other SEC universities to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures or performances.

“The SEC Faculty Travel Program has been a tremendous resource for faculty at universities across the SEC,” said Dr. Ellen Reames, Associate Professor at Auburn University and former program participant. “It gives us the opportunity to work with colleagues in our field of study throughout the region. It is a very powerful tool for SEC universities.”

Program participants from each SEC university will travel throughout the academic year, and disciplines represented include engineering, marine biology, political science, and linguistics, among others.

The SEC Faculty Travel Program is administered by SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference. The SEC supports and promotes the academic endeavors of the students and faculty at its 14 member institutions.

Click here for a full list of 2017-18 SEC Faculty Travel Program participants.


Media contacts: Bryant Welbourne, SECU,, 205-949-8960.  Keith Randall, Texas A&M University News & Information Services, at (979) 845-4644 or

Related Stories

Recent Stories