Six Texas A&M Faculty Honored For Teaching Excellence

Left to right: Dr. Heidi Campbell, Dr. Gary Boldt, Lauren Mathews, Bo Hawthorne, Dr. Jake Mowrer, Vanessa Limon, Dr. Scott Cummings, Jodi Nerren, Dr. Cable Kurwitz, Jared Lilly, Dr. Gregory Chamitoff, Mauricio Coen.

By Sherri MacWillie, Texas A&M University Center for Teaching Excellence

The Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) at Texas A&M University recently held its inaugural Aggies Celebrate Teaching – Recognizing Transformational Learning and six faculty members were honored for teaching excellence.

Students across all colleges wrote heart-felt essays giving evidence of and reflecting upon the professor’s impact on their learning and lives.

Six students honored their professors as inspirational and transformational mentors before an audience of 80 faculty, staff, and administrators. This event was the fulfillment of the vision of CTE  leadership to celebrate faculty across all colleges for their impact on students through transformational teaching practices.

The students shared their stories of “complex and rigorous content, taught using visual examples;” “assumptions that were continuously challenged and positively changed;” and “integrating real-world challenges like technical failures to require students to complete necessary calculations by hand.” The audience heard compelling student accounts of the impact transformational teaching has had on student learning.

The following six professors were honored for their transformational teaching practices:

  • Gary Boldt, College of Architecture, nominated by Bo Hawthorne, senior Construction Science major
  • Heidi Campbell, College of Liberal Arts, nominated by Lauren Mathews, senior Telecommunication Media Studies major
  • Gregory Chamitoff, Dwight Look College of Engineering, nominated by Mauricio Coen, graduate student in Aerospace Engineering
  • Scott Cummings, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, nominated by Jodi Nerren, graduate student in Agriculture Leadership, Education, and Communication
  • Cable Kurwitz, Dwight Look College of Engineering, nominated by Jared Lilly, freshman Engineering major
  • Jake Mowrer, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, nominated by Vanessa Limon, senior Plant & Environmental Soil Sciences major

Contact: Sherri MacWillie, Program Manager, at

More: Business, Law, & Society

Follow Texas A&M