Campus Life

Montague-CTE Scholars Named

The Center for Teaching Excellence at Texas A&M University has announced its 2015-16 Montague-CTE Scholars.
September 8, 2015

Kenneth Montague
Kenneth Montague

The Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) at Texas A&M University has announced its 2015-16 Montague-CTE Scholars—nine faculty members who were selected for excellence in undergraduate teaching and learning.

The Montague-CTE Scholar award is named in honor of the late Kenneth Montague, a 1937 Texas A&M graduate who was awarded distinguished alumnus status and was a long-serving trustee for the Texas A&M Foundation. He and his wife, Judy, created an endowment in 1991 to benefit Aggies who are life-long learners and contributors to their communities.

“The CTE is deeply grateful to Mr. and Mrs. Montague’s son, Jim, and wife, Vicki, for their generous and continued support to recognize early career excellence in teaching and learning at our university,” stated CTE Associate Director Debra Fowler.

Each academic college has the opportunity to select one tenure-track faculty member annually to receive this prestigious award, Fowler explained. Each awardee receives $6,500 to encourage further development of their outstanding undergraduate teaching attributes, she added.

The 2015-16 Montague-Center for Teaching Excellence Scholars are:

  • David Wells, Galveston Campus, Department of Marine Biology
  • Jinsil Hwaryoung Seo, College of Architecture, Department of Visualization
  • Kelly Graf, College of Liberal Arts, Department of Anthropology
  • Michelle Lawing, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Department of Ecosystem Science & Management
  • Gretchen Miller, Dwight Look College of Engineering, Department of Civil Engineering
  • Jennifer Marshall, College of Science, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Maria Esteve-Gassent, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Department of Veterinary Pathobiology
  • Dan Goldberg, College of Geosciences, Department of Geography
  • Sarah Rice, Mays Business School, Department of Accounting

The 25th anniversary celebration of The Montague-CTE Scholar Award Program will be held on Oct. 7 in the Bethancourt Ballroom of the Memorial Student Center. Members of the Montague family, along with many of the previous teacher-scholars recognized since the award program’s inception, will be in attendance.

Counting the 2015-16 honorees, 225 Montague-CTE Scholars have been selected since the program began.

Media contact:

Related Stories

Recent Stories