Culture & Society

Freedom From Terrorism Memorial Dedication

A memorial to Texas Aggies who have died in the fight against terrorism will be dedicated Friday, October 17.
By Kathryn Greenwade, The Association of Former Students October 14, 2008

Freedom From Terrorism Memorial
Freedom From Terrorism Memorial

(The Battalion)

A memorial to Texas Aggies who have died in the fight against terrorism will be dedicated Friday, October 17.

The Freedom From Terrorism Memorial, placed near the area of the Texas A&M campus housing the Corps of Cadets, is a gift from Texas A&M’s classes of 1968 and 2003. The memorial, designed by Texas A&M graduate architecture students, is dedicated to Texas Aggies “who have made the ultimate sacrifice and those who will continue to make sacrifices in the effort to provide U.S. citizens ‘Freedom From Terrorism.’” The memorial also includes the acknowledgement and thanks to the many Texas Aggies who guard and protect the United States from terrorist attacks.

Texas A&M President Elsa Murano will officially accept the memorial at a dedication ceremony scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Other scheduled speakers include Porter S. Garner III, Class of 1979, executive director of The Association of Former Students; and Bill Jones, Class of 1981, chairman of the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents. Retired U.S. Air Force Gen. Hal M. Hornburg, Class of 1968, and U.S. Marine Capt. Dan Moran, Class of 2003, will speak on behalf of their respective classes.

Hornburg, the 2008 president of the board of The Association of Former Students, entered the Air Force in 1968 as a graduate from Texas A&M’s Corps of Cadets with a bachelor’s degree in finance. He retired in 2005 as the commander of the Air Combat Command, headquartered at Langley Air Force Base in Virginia, and air component commander for the U.S. Joint Forces Command and U.S. Northern Command.

Moran was injured by an improvised explosive device while serving in Iraq in October 2006. He suffered second- and third-degree burns over more than half his body.

The monument was designed by four members of the Class of 2007—Jorge Martinez, David McMillin, Hernan Molina and Mariano Ortiz—while they were graduate architecture students at Texas A&M. Their design was chosen from 27 entries in a 2006 college-wide competition.

The design of the monument features a 22-foot concrete wall with an off-center gap intended to represent the people who have died while fighting to protect freedom. The memorial also includes three rows of 12 box-like shapes leading to the wall, which represent people who are involved in the battle against terrorism.

The memorial is located at the corner of Coke and Lubbock Streets.

Limited parking for the dedication ceremony will be available in the University Center Garage; additional parking is available in Lot 48.

Media contact:

Related Stories

Recent Stories