Campus Life

Texas A&M Cadets Awarded Certificates In Leadership Study And Development

The Texas A&M Corps of Cadets Leadership Excellence Program awarded 70 cadets with the Certificate in Leadership Study and Development.
May 12, 2007

The Texas A&M University Corps of Cadets Leadership Excellence Program awarded 70 cadets with the Certificate in Leadership Study and Development Saturday (May 12) at Reed Arena during the university’s commissioning ceremony.

The Corps of Cadets Leadership Excellence Program, established in January 2002 operates in conjunction with the Office of the Commandant to develop well-educated leaders of character who are prepared to provide values based leadership and service to all sectors of society.

Speakers for the ceremony were James Pitcock ’49 and Lt. Gen. (R) John Van Alstyne, commandant of the corps.

“This program is more than about producing leaders…it’s about developing a particular type of leader. It is about developing leaders of character, who, when using the words “honor” and “integrity” fully understanding what those words mean,” said Van Alstyne.

The certificate in Leadership Study and Development is an academic award that is noted on students’ official university transcripts. It verifies participants have included with formal education, a series of training and development opportunities. The courses and testing of the program are designed to ensure that students can fulfill the requirements essential to their development as a leader in their profession.

The recipients were as follows: Tyler Coats of Garden City, construction science; Justin Curtsinger of Sanger, environmental design; Justin Homeyer of Willis, engineering technology; Bret Janak of Dallas, environmental design; Nicholas Kwiatkowski of Magnolia, communication; Nicholas Listi of Belton, geography; Aaron McEwin of Southlake, mechanical engineering; Jacqueline McGehee of San Antonio, bioenvironmental science and philosophy; and Robert Pagenkopf of Corpus Christi, accounting.

Also John Peffer of Houston, genetics; Jeremy Pittman of Lufkin, agriculture leadership and development; Matthew Shaw of Katy, construction science; Farzam Afshar of College Station, agriculture leadership and development; Michael Awe of Kingwood, political science; Matthew Bell of Richardson, history; Robert Brown of Weatherford, construction science; Alexander Burnette of Joshua, agriculture leadership and development; William Bush of Woodbridge, Virginia, finance; Jonathan Camero of Cedar Hill, environmental design; Jared Capps of Gladewater, political science; and Frank Cimrhanzel of Houston, agriculture leadership and development.

Also David Clayton of Sugar Land, mechanical engineering; Adam Collins of Baytown, agriculture leadership and development; John Conrad of Flower Mound, electrical engineering; Heath Crain of Bay City, engineering technology; Joseph Dannenbaum of Tulsa, Oklahoma, biology; William Dugat of Austin, geology; Jeremy Duggins of Houston, marketing; Gregory Elliott of Brandenton, Florida, political science; Andrew Everitt of The Woodlands, sports management; Christopher Felleisen of York, Maine, history and communication; Mary Formanek of Bentonville, international dtudies; Jeanne Fyall of Dripping Springs, biology; Miguel Garcia of Sealy, political science and spanish; Charles Grady Giffin of Grapevine, political science; and Peggy Sue Grant of Bartlett, biomedical science.

Also Jacob Guerra of San Antonio, political science; Robert Hakari of Plano, chemistry; Tyson Hann of College Station, civil engineering and agriculture engineering; Benjamin Hisey of Gonzales, rangeland ecology and management; Richard Hoelscher of San Antonio, communication; Robert Irwin of Cedar Park, political science; Jacob Jackson of Texarkana, communication; Leslie Jones of Poolville, industrial distribution; Samuel Jordan of Fort Worth, management; Charles Leftwich of Kirbyville, animal science; Patrick Mayo of Texarkana, industrial distribution; and Jonathan McAllister of Whitehouse, recreation park and tourism science.

Also William McCranor III of Willis, electrical engineering; William McDonald of Houston, accounting; Caleb McElroy of Aledo, industrial distribution; Matthew McKinney of Katy, political science; Victor Mondragon of Cypress, international studies; David Moyer Jr. of Houston, computer engineering; Jeffrey Nickeson of Seabrook, political Science; Monica Ogle of Rowlett, history; David Parsons of Port Arthur, political science; Justin Partlow of Kountze, management; Hallie Pendleton of San Antonio, international studies; Zeb Pike of Camp Pendleton, California, history; Alec Pourteau of Houston, history; Hans Runk of Deer Park, political science; Christopher Schleiffer of Beaumont, industrial distribution; Jessica Simmons of Niceville, Florida, marketing; Matthew Simmons of Midland, management; Nathan Snow of Eureka, Missouri, history; Joshua Solis of Houston, civil engineering; Yingna Song of Houston, biomedical science; Scott Stallings of Granbury, industrial sistribution; and Gregory Williams of Snook, history.

Related Stories

Recent Stories