Distinguished Achievement Award Winners Announced

Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students have selected 24 members of the institution’s faculty and staff to be honored with 2013 Distinguished Achievement Awards.

The 2013 Distinguished Achievement Awards will be formally presented at 1:30 p.m. April 29 during ceremonies in Rudder Theatre. In recognition of their achievements, each recipient will receive a $4,000 cash gift, an engraved watch and a commemorative plaque.

The 2013 recipients, along with their departments/affiliations are as follows.

For Teaching: Janet Hammer, Department of Teaching, Learning, and Culture; Shelley Holliday, Department of Architecture; Thomas Iliffe, Department of Marine Biology, Texas A&M University at Galveston; Reuben May, Department of Sociology; Rogelio Oliva, Department of Information and Operations Management; Karen Snowden, Department of Veterinary Pathobiology; Patricia Smith, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering; Arun Srinivasa, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Victor Ugaz, Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering; and Tryon Wickersham, Department of Animal Science.

For Research: Murray Barrick, Department of Management; Noah Cohen, Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences; John Gladysz, Department of Chemistry; Ibrahim Karaman, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Qi Li, Department of Economics; and Jörg Steiner, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences.

For Student Relations: Xenophon Koufteros, Department of Information and Operations Management, and Kenita Rogers, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

For Administration: Tom Reber, Division of Student Affairs.

For Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education and Professional Development: Saqib Mukhtar, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering.

For Staff: Charlene Boggus, Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications, and Michael Tomchesson, Department of Health and Kinesiology.

For Graduate Mentoring: Kenneth Meier, Department of Political Science, and Peter Santschi, Department of Marine Sciences, Texas A&M University at Galveston.

The university-level awards were first presented in 1955 and have since been awarded to 954 professionals (including this year’s recipients) who have exhibited the highest standards of excellence at Texas A&M.

For more information about the awards, go here.

For more about The Association of Former Students, go here.

Media contact: Tura King, Division of Marketing & Communications, at (979) 845-4670


Related Stories