22 Faculty Members Receive Grants From Texas A&M’s Division Of Research

Faculty members representing five Texas A&M University colleges along with Texas A&M-Galveston received 22 grants totaling $240,289 through an initiative sponsored by the University’s Division of Research.

Proposals were submitted during the fall semester to the Program to Enhance Scholarly and Creative Activities (PESCA), which provides funding awards for significant research projects, scholarly publications, and artistic presentations.

A peer-review panel evaluated the faculty proposals, which were judged on their potential to produce significant scholarly or creative results, such as an article in a major journal, a book published by a major academic press, or a successful application for an external award or grant.

“The Division of Research established the PESCA grants to provide funding in fields which have limited external support,”ย said Jeffrey R. Seemann, vice president for research. “Our 2012 PESCA grants will fund projects in the arts, humanities, social sciences, or related fields, as well as other disciplines such as agriculture, architecture, and health and kinesiology.”ย

The awards topped out at $10,000 for single-authored proposals and $24,998 for multi-authored proposals. The recipients are:

  • Michael Alvard, associate professor, anthropology
  • Terah Chambers, assistant professor, educational administration and human resource development
  • Daniel Conway, professor, philosophy and humanities
  • George Cunningham, professor, health and kinesiology
  • Ashley Currier, assistant professor, women’s studies
  • Tommy Curry, assistant professor, philosophy and humanities
  • Carol Davis, assistant professor, general academics
  • Jennifer Ganz, associate professor, educational psychology
  • James Gramann, professor, recreation, parks and tourism sciences
  • Melanie Hawthorne, professor, European and classical languages and cultures
  • Weiling He, associate professor, architecture
  • Lucia Hodgson, assistant professor, English
  • Maura Ives, associate professor, English
  • Marisa Kellam, assistant professor, political science
  • Jun-Hyun Kim, assistant professor, landscape architecture and urban planning
  • Shuhei Kurizaki, assistant professor, political science
  • Peter Lieuwen, professor, performance studies
  • Xiaobo Lu, assistant professor, Bush School of Government and Public Service
  • Gregory Pappas, associate professor, philosophy and humanities
  • Tracy Rutherford, associate professor, agricultural leadership and communications
  • Laura Stough, associate professor, educational psychology
  • Jenelle Troxell, assistant professor, English

For a complete list of proposal titles and more information about the program, please visit here.


Related Stories