Texas A&M To Play Key Role In Ninth Annual Energy Conference

Texas A&M University will figure prominently at The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas‘ ninth annual energy conference on Thursday and Friday (Jan. 12-13) at the Omni Houston Hotel in Houston. Stephen Holditch, professor and head of Texas A&M’s Petroleum Engineering Department, serves as this year’s TAMEST president, while George Mitchell, a 1940 graduate of the university, will be honored at the conference for his contribution to energy development and philanthropy.

The conference theme, Energy for Life: from Human Metabolism to Powering the Planet, will explore innovations in energy — from the challenges of meeting global energy needs to research advancements in human energy metabolism.

The program includes keynote addresses by Marvin Odum, president of Shell Oil Company, and William H. Dietz, director of the CDC’s Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity, as well as presentations by prominent leaders in industry, academia and government. Conference sessions will feature presentations and panels on energy and its wide-ranging impact on lives, from powering homes and businesses to the latest research on combating obesity and diabetes.

“The challenge of our time is to secure a more sustainable future,” Odum said. “At Shell, we are taking an especially close look at the nexus between water, food and energy. All three are dependent on each other for production, and all three are becoming increasingly scarce,” he said. “The TAMEST conference will provide an important opportunity for key stakeholders to engage on this critical topic and discuss new and innovative ways to optimize energy for life.”

In recognition for his significant contributions to Texas and the world in the areas of energy development, real estate development and restoration, environmental sustainability and philanthropy, the conference will also feature a tribute to Mitchell, the “father of shale gas.” The tribute will include a video on Mitchell’s contributions as well as presentations by Dan B. Steward, a geologist at Republic Energy, and Dr. Mark D. Zoback, the Benjamin M. Page Professor at Stanford University.

The Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards annually recognize rising Texas researchers who are addressing the essential role that science and technology play in society, and whose work meets the highest standards of exemplary professional performance, creativity and resourcefulness. Award recipients will be recognized at the O’Donnell Awards dinner Thursday.

“Rising young researchers nominated for recognition in the seventh year of the O’Donnell Awards continue to raise the bar for innovation and scientific achievement in Texas,” Holditch said.

For further information about the TAMEST 2012 Annual Conference please visit the conference’s website here.

About TAMEST: The Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Science of Texas (TAMEST) was founded in 2004 to provide broader recognition of the state’s top achievers in medicine, engineering and science, and to build a stronger identity for Texas as an important destination and center of achievement in these fields. Members include Texas’ 10 Nobel laureates and the 240+ National Academies members. TAMEST brings the state’s top scientific, academic and corporate minds together to further position Texas as a national research leader. TAMEST also hopes to foster the next generation of scientists and to increase the awareness and communication among the state’s best and brightest about research priorities for the future.


Media contact: Jason Cook,   Vice President for Marketing and Communications, Texas A&M University, at (979) 458-1729 or (979) 458-6023


Related Stories